Home

This is what happens when you let life/people upset you, sickness hits, and you can’t sleep for recovery. My body fat went up 3%, which isn’t BAD by any means; it just bumps me to 15%. When you expect a minimum number that reflects maintenance, and you don’t get it…you, at least I do see a setback. I have to work on this.  Attitude drives personal performance.

So not only did I not feel like slipping out of my super soft pj’s this morning, but when I did flop out of bed I realized it was almost quarter after eight!  I was up until 3 a.m. hoping that sleep would take over so I wouldn’t have to take Ibuprofen for the pain in my right ear and side of my throat, which I did.  I thought for sure coffee would bring me back, and when it didn’t, I thought about cancelling boot camp.  I don’t want to waste a session with my trainer, let alone fellow fitness diehards,  if I can’t give 100%; I can save that for my own workouts, or for a class.

My weight has been fluctuating in a matter of days from 121 to 117 lbs.  I went up 2 lbs. since yesterday. Is it water?  Is it from last week?  Is it a virus?  I don’t know.  I do know I should have post-poned the body fat check for a day when things with my body were more static, because I left with a “why bother” and “what’s the point?” attitude.

It may not be a big deal to many people, and I’m sure a lot of women would be ecstatic to have 15% body fat, especially at my age.   However, when you’ve worked hard and sacrificed you want your hard work to reflect this.  Last week was so productive.  See?  Not too bad, but not too great either.

 

RSCN0911

 

I did have the opportunity to bend the ear of a Lifetime trainer on my way out of the gym.  He told me that stress, lack of sleep, and sickness all contribute to fluctuations in body fat.  Prolonged, it results in an increase.  In order to downsize this, I have to go “pulled-pork”–low and slow.  This is zone 1, not 2.  So I’ll be joining the ranks of the solitaire players (yeah, some of the treads have solitaire you can play while your walk) and working my fingers more than my heart rate.  It may take me six hours to burn what I can in twenty minutes of sprint intervals, but fitness isn’t always about speedy immediate results.  A lot of times it can take 6 months to see a muscle pop, able to move that extra 5 pounds on your bar, or drop a percentage point in body fat.  If you want to be fit, you have to be patient, otherwise get a referral for a good plastic surgeon.

I’m sure once I get on the mend, I’ll shrink back in no time.  I’m adding quality carbs to my diet which I was also told could be a contributing menace.  I do believe some people need certain carbs.  I can’t maintain the Paleo diet.  It was glorious in the beginning, but now I’m needing something more substantial.  Last night it was red pepper cilantro pesto barley with red lentils.  Creamy and satisfying.  I’m just going to make better choices with my carbs.  If I don’t make it, I don’t eat it.

Yaawwwnnn.  Afternoon coffee chugged, and I still feel like I could curl up in a ball and slip into sweet dreams.  Oh well, tomorrow’s a new day and a new opportunity for healing.  I must say though, my throat hurt all the way to the gym, but once I started getting my heart rate up the ache went away.  There is something magical about blood flow.

One thought on “Stress, sickness, and insomnia.

  1. Pingback: Stress, sickness, and insomnia. | Scarf Me Down

Leave a Reply

