Home

 

15-20 Minute “Hotel” Cardio Workout

Equipment Needed:

Jump rope*

Yoga mat or towel

 

Ok.  I’m not in a hotel today, but if I were, this is something I could totally do.  Unless of course you have mad-crazy-bad jump roping skills, then by all means…save the lamps!  You could easily jog in place or replace with alternating jumping jacks and split lunges and air squats.

Get the burpees in though!  They push this to a full body intense workout.

 

10 dead-man burpees**

2 minute jump rope

10 dead-man burpees

3 minute jump rope

10 dead-man burpees

2 minute jump rope

10 dead-man burpees

3 minute jump rope

10 dead-man burpees

2 minute jump rope

10 dead-man burpees

 

Easy mission accomplished!  Depending on how/or what kind of shape you’re in, the burpees won’t take that long.  It took me about 16 minutes or so.

This workout keeps you in your high zones, and you want to stay in them because it’s so short.  It doesn’t feel like it during some of the jump rope intervals, but it really packs a punch.

Average HR: 152 (83%); Low zone 3 for me Max HR: 168 (91%) I don't even know what this zone is...heart rupture?

Average HR: 152 (83%); Low zone 3 for me
Max HR: 168 (91%) I don’t even know what this zone is…heart rupture?

218 Calories burned in 16 minutes ain't bad...17% body fat...ain't bad either

218 Calories burned in 16 minutes ain’t bad…17% body fat…ain’t bad either

 

I like to include one of these cardio sessions in my workout plan each week.  They are total fat shredders, despite what your heart rate monitor says at the end, because a lot of the fat shredding occurs in the recovery.  You caused so much “good” damage to your body; it’s trying to fix itself.  Not to mention the benefits you receive from pushing the boundaries of your heart.

 

Plus, I’m not trying to sustain this pace for a long period of time.  This means my body doesn’t cannibalize itself, causing me to lose that precious and hard earned muscle.  For my frame and built in genetics, it is hard for me to pack on the curves, so I have to really watch myself.  Since I’ve listened to my trainer, I’ve begun to keep what I earn while lowering my body fat.  This is a far cry for me from my running days when I could go for two or more hours at a time.  The difference is 19% compared to 13%, and I have more boobage.

Even though this is only fifteen minutes of your time, make sure you get that protein shake in within twenty minutes.

*My jump rope is weighted.  I highly recommend this, to sculpt your biceps, triceps and shoulders.  Every added bit helps right?

**This is when you lie face down on the ground and extend your arms outward.  You pop to your hands and jump up reaching for the ceiling.  It can really push your heart rate.  Where you plant your feet will determine how high you can get and how efficient you can do these.

Leave a Reply

