Home

Golden Beet Rice with Sweet Potato Puree

 

Also great as a base for veggies, chicken or fish.

Also great as a base for veggies, chicken or fish.

My trainer has told me the best thing for me to consume post-workout is white rice.  Wha?!  It replenishes my depleted glycogen stores in my muscles, giving them the fuel they need to repair themselves, as well as taking my metabolism out of starving mode which keeps it charged.

I came up with this from leftover rice that was dry from being in the fridge for a while (just like Chinese take-out rice after 48 hours).  Don’t throw it away!  I used yellow beet water from when I cooked my beets and pureed sweet potato.  Both are easily digestible and accelerate the recovery process.  Besides, this is slightly sweet and creamy. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • *Retained water from yellow or red beets
  • Leftover dried/dryish white rice
  • Pureed sweet potato

Directions:

  1. Dump your rice into your favorite saucepot with a lid and fill with beet water to the top of the rice.
  2. Add pureed sweet potato.  A nice layer over the top will do.  Cover and bring to a simmer around the edges of the pot.
  3. There will be liquid, so remove lid and stirring often cook until the liquid is absorbed.  You know you’re done when you feel the rice begin to stick to the bottom of the pot.

*I purchase my beets whole with greens attached.  You can find yellow beets at Whole Foods, Farmer’s Markets, or any upscale grocer.  Red is totally fine, though they have a stronger flavor than the yellow.  KEEP THE GREENS!  Wash and chop them and add them to omelets, stir-fries, or soups.  Beets are a GREAT liver cleaner from the top to the bottom.  I peel my beets and chop in bite sized pieces, add water to cover, and bring to a boil.  I shut off the heat at that point and let them sit.

Notes:

This recipe so depends on you and what you have leftover.  That’s why there aren’t any precise measurements other than; fill to the top, cover, stir, and feel for sticky ness.

I try to keep pureed sweet potato on hand to add to muffins, breakfast breads, soups, chilis, salad dressings….you name it.  I peel mine; add water for steaming, cover and nuke for 2-3 minutes then pop in the blender.

 

 

One thought on “Golden Beet Rice with Sweet Potato Puree

  1. Pingback: Golden Beet Rice with Sweet Potato Puree | Scarf Me Down

Leave a Reply

