Home

Sunchoke Salad

I LOVE artichokes, and grew up dipping the leaves in hot butter and slurping down the heart with MORE butter.  Times (and my metabolism) have changed, but I still love that flavor.  There aren’t any artichokes in this salad, but you’d think there were.  I use Jerusalem artichokes/sunchokes which are members of the potato family.  This salad is tasty, zippy, and GREAT for upcoming summer picnics and parties.

These delightful tubers only have 109 calories per cup, 0 fat, 3 g of protein and a net carb intake of 23.6 g.  GREAT for post workout carb reload.  Plus they have 6% of your daily Magnesium requirements, which is another post workout bonus—Magnesium aids in muscle recoveryI.  If you’re a little on the anemic side, you’ll get 28% of your Iron in that one little serving.

Knobby little dudes.

Knobby little dudes.

I purchased mine from Whole Foods.  Most specialty or elite stores will carry them.  I plan on having my own once spring arrives.  Just like potatoes, they are easy breezy to grow—so Google tells me.  This recipe is up to you.  There is nothing precise about the measurements.  It’s about your preference.  Think of this as a guideline.  I’m giving you the paint.  You create the picture.

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs Jerusalem artichokes/sunchokes
  • 2 large shallots minced & soaked in cold water
  • 1 large orange or 2 large sweet bell peppers chopped
  • 1 can of large black olives
  • * C (or more) diced sundried tomatoes in oil minced
  • Fresh or dried parsley chopped
  • ½ C nutty cheese finely shredded (I used Parrano Unekaas Dutch, but Asiago, or Parmigianino Reggiano works great)
  • White Balsamic Vinegar

    My/your arsenal.  Not pictured:  EVOO.

    My/your arsenal. Not pictured: EVOO.

  • EVOO
  • Red pepper flakes

Do it:

  1. Wash your chokes and cut into whatever size piece you prefer–I leave the skin on, because I’m too lazy to peel those knobby little suckers—and drop into your pot of salted water.  Cook them like you would potatoes.  I like to bring to a boil for a few minutes, cover, then shut off the heat and let them sit.  This salad gets better with age, so keeping the chokes on the firmer side helps to keep texture in the salad.
  2. Making sure your ingredients are **dry; add chokes, shallots, bite-sized pieces of orange bell pepper, sundried tomatoes and oil, cheese, and parsley to large bowl.  Stir to combine.
  3. The rest is up to you.  Add a pinch of salt to bring out the ingredients, and as much red pepper flakes as you like for zip.  Drizzle in the white balsamic to lighten and offset the oils, and heighten the flavor of the chokes.  I like how the sweetness counteracts the nutty/saltiness of the cheese.
  4. Enjoy!

*I like to get my sundried tomatoes from the Olive bars at my local grocers.  There’s something different about the marinade they’re in, and they taste the same from store to store.

**The oil won’t cling to wet ingredients.  I dried all my ingredients in a colander with paper towels. Hey.  Nobody told ME when I started cooking.

This is the cheese I used with BFF White Balsamic.  Use what you like, try something different, or polish off what you have in the fridge.

This is the cheese I used with BFF White Balsamic. Use what you like, try something different, or polish off what you have in the fridge.

One thought on “Sunchoke Salad

  1. Pingback: Sunchoke Salad | Scarf Me Down

Leave a Reply

