Home

 Cheggs

Cheggs

Start to finish:  2 minutes!

I love eggs.  They are the easiest protein for your body to absorb, and are painless to make.  Not only do you get your Vitamin D, Choline, and Amino Acids but when you add the Chia seeds, you get an extra dose of Omega Fatty Acids.

Why add the Chia?  They expand to nine times their original size, helping you to stay fuller longer, energized, and maintain electrolyte balance—I actually carry a table spoon with me at all times in case I can’t get to quality food in time.  By adding Chia, you are giving yourself an alternative to oatmeal, processed cereals, breads, etc. before you start your day or your workout.  The chia helps to maintain your insulin levels, so you don’t crash and burn.

I’ve been running a LOT lately, about six miles a day with resistance training.  I have the honor of pushing my 3 ½ year old in her baby jogger which gets loaded with library books, a few grocery items, or my NSCA books.  It quickly becomes a mobile prowler, which I estimate to be about 70lbs, or more!  I’ve been experimenting with a low carb diet in a high aerobic endurance program.  This little recipe has done an amazing job keeping my energy high and sustained.  It would be a great addition to any athlete who wants some extra protein with their oatmeal in the morning.

Ingredients:

·         Two extra-large eggs

·         Pinch salt

·         1 tbs Chia seeds

·         Coconut oil for pan

Do it:

1.       Heat your pan with coconut oil, being careful not to let it smoke, or whatever you choose to use.

2.       Combine your ingredients and give it a good beating.  I use the 2:1 ratio with eggs to Chia seeds.  It’s not               too much; just the right amount to do the job.

3.       Cook your scrambled eggs, and enjoy.

Variation:

DSCN3297_488

Add some Adzuki beans!  They are #1 in anti-oxidant order for all beans and berries!

Leave a Reply

